One representative from each of our seven districts forms Council. These seven Councillors are elected by residents of the Municipality of the District of Chester. They research and discuss issues relevant to municipal government and then form policy through resolutions (motions). This policy gives municipal staff the direction they need to carry out services to property owners of the Municipality.

Council is elected every four years (the next election is October 2020), and their election is held simultaneously with the School Board's.

View the boundary map of each electoral district.

Council meets twice per month; on the second and last Thursday. Individually, they sit on various secondary committees called "Committees of Council" where specific issues are discussed and recommendations are brought back to Council for either approval, denial, or amendment.

View a list of Special and Standing Committees of Council.