Regional Emergency Measures Organization

According to the provincial Emergency Management Act, municipal government is the body responsible during an emergency or disaster. If disaster strikes, it is up to Council to declare a state of emergency if needed. They also assess the situation using information from first responders, municipal staff, emergency management groups, provincial departments, and other individuals and organizations on the scene.

In 2006, four municipal units signed the Regional Emergency Response Agreement to cement their commitment to working together if a significant emergency occurs. The Agreement, which led to the Regional Emergency Management Organization (REMO) was made between,

  • Municipality of the District of Chester
  • Municipality of the District of Lunenburg
  • Town of Bridgewater
  • Town of Mahone Bay

These four municipal units share responsibilities associated with emergency preparedness, planning, response and recovery. They have jointly developed a Regional Emergency Response Plan that will guide actions and decisions during an emergency response.


The Heirarchy of REMO

Advisory Committee: This group of mayors/wardens and elected officials advises the four councils on REMO activities and functions within the Emergency Operations Center (EOC).

Planning Committee: These individuals represent various departments and organizations that might have a role to play during an emergency. This group works in the planning and preparedness phases to ensure the community has emergency plans, procedures and resources to support the response effort if required.

Coordinator/Liaison Group: This group consists of the Regional Emergency Management Coordinator and an Emergency Management Liaison person from each municipal units. This group functions in all aspects of emergency planning, preparedness, response, and recovery and monitors both local and regional concerns.

For more information on REMO, please visit their website by clicking here.